Sponsor of the BPM Dissertation Award: Bizagi


The Steering Committee of the International Conference on Business Process Management is happy to announce the new Best BPM Dissertation Award.


Eligible as candidates are all dissertations that have been officially completed between 01 January and 31 December 2016. We invite theses from a broad spectrum of topics that relate to BPM. These topics include, but are not limited to:

  • BPM and strategy,
  • BPM and innovation,
  • BPM and governance,
  • BPM methods,
  • Process mining,
  • Process modelling and analysis,
  • BPM and decision management,
  • BPM enactment architectures and process execution,
  • BPM techniques and algorithms,
  • BPM and organizational culture,
  • BPM and various stakeholders,
  • BPM and organizational routines,
  • BPM and IT implementation,
  • BPM and process-aware information systems,
  • BPM and new types of coordination and collaboration,
  • BPM and new technologies.

We explicitly embrace any type of research no matter which research methods have been used. This means that dissertations that have been conducted using formal methods, empirical methods or design methods are equally welcome.


The winner will receive the award at the BPM Conference 2017 in Barcelona. The award is connected with a price of 1,000 EUR and a free registration for the conference.

Nomination and Submission

Candidates are nominated by their primary supervisor using a nomination letter. Each professor is only allowed to nominate one candidate. The candidate is responsible for submitting the nomination material via Easychair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bpmdiss2017) including the following documents as a single PDF file:

  1. 5-page extended abstract (in Springer’s LNCS format) of the thesis with the title “<thesis-title> (Extended Abstract)”,
  2. Nomination letter by supervisor (not longer than 2 pages),
  3. PhD evaluation report including the reviews of the dissertation,
  4. CV of the candidate including publication list, and
  5. Full document of the dissertation.

We plan to publish all extended abstracts as a volume of CEUR online proceedings that are relevant to this call.

Selection Process

The winner of the award will be determined in two steps. First, a review committee will evaluate the submission material and identify a short list of three candidates. Second, these three candidates will be invited to give a presentation of their work in an online session with the review jury. The jury will then select the winner. The selection process will be directed by the following criteria:

  • Originality and depth of contribution,
  • Methodological soundness,
  • Form and quality of presentation, and
  • Significance for the research field.

Important Dates

30 April 2017: Deadline for submission of thesis.
26 May 2017: Notification whether thesis is short listed.
19 June 2017: Online session with short-listed candidates.
30 June 2017: Notification of the winner

Review Jury

Wil van der Aalst, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Akhil Kumar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
Jan Mendling (Chair), WU Vienna, Austria
Brian Pentland, Michigan State University, United States
Mathias Weske, HPI Potsdam, Germany

Review Committee (to be confirmed)

Boulem Bentallah, University of New South Wales, Australia
Nicholas Berente, University of Georgia, United States
Marlon Dumas, University of Tartu, Estonia
Jörg Desel, FernUni Hagen, Germany
Marta Indulska, University of Queensland
Marco Montali, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Michael zur Muehlen, Stevens Institute of Technology, United States
Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Jan Recker, QUT Brisbane, Australia
Hajo Reijers, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Stefanie Rinderle-Ma, Vienna University, Austria
Barbara Weber, Technical University of Denmark